Your Mind Is Exactly At That Line

If you are simply someone following a set of instructions to produce something which, according to modern terminology, is defined as art, are you really an artist?

Sol Lewitt believes in the idea and concept of art, more than the process, the end-product, and possibly more than the ego of the person who produces the art work.

When I read this letter encased inside the glass display, from Lewitt to one of his close correspondents in Australia, I felt identified with him immediately.

“I don’t know about doing too many shows in Australia. I would prefer to do a wall drawing for your office and one for each of the museums in Sydney and Melbourne… I don’t want to do any lectures or parties, dinners and too much social stuff.

I wanted to grab the curator of the room and say to him: “Look! He doesn’t want the social stuff! I can totally understand him! Art for the sake of art, nothing of the other peripheral things like social gatherings and obligations! I can totally understand!!”

Of course I did not.  I simply smiled to myself, took a picture, and left the room, silently consoled that I know of one more soul on this planet who needs solitude in order for full expression to be achieved.

Leave a Reply

