The Innocent Ones @ Clipper

 

All was well and good at this lovely cafe, until I took a picture of this corner:

Almost immediately after Xue’er’s shutter went off, I heard the lady’s voice:

“EXCUSE ME.”

Startled, I looked over to the right. There she was, a lady who looked like she was in her early thirties, typing away at her laptop. Or at least she was typing, before she stopped and started glaring at me.

“WHAT are you taking picture of.”

Stunned and speechless by her sudden confrontation, I pointed weakly at the area where I had been aiming at.

She glowered at me for about 2 seconds more, which felt like forever. Finally she lowered her eyes.

“As long as I’m not in it.”

I mustered up a weak smile and shook my head, hoping she would understand my gestures of “oh, no, don’t worry, you’re not in it.”

I was so shaken by her confrontation that I didn’t even bother to try taking a better picture, or any more pictures after that. If I had the guts, I would have liked to tell her: Lady, look at my face. Look at my innocent and harmless-looking face. Then look at my camera. Look at her innocent and non-pro lens. We come in peace. Really.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thankfully, she’s an exception, not the norm.

Lesson learnt: Do not point camera in direction of angsty looking people.

Leave a Reply

