Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Book / Film

 

“Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” tell of Thomas Schell’s attempts to prolong memories of his father, whom he lost in 9/11, by following what he thinks is a vital clue found in his father’s closet. The novel spans 3 generations of Schells, which was rather confusing at first, but became clearer as the story interweaves on.

2 days after I finished the book, I watched the movie. And it made me cry, even more than the book did. Thomas’ insecurities and problems with coming to terms with the world around him was more poignantly expressed here. Thomas Horn is an amazing child-actor, giving a stellar performance as the aspergic Schell.

 

“We were quiet on the car ride home. I turned on the radio and found a station playing “Hey Jude.” It was true, I didn’t want to make it bad. I wanted to take the sad song and make it better. It’s just that I didn’t know how.”

2 thoughts on “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Book / Film”

  1. i thought these works of art were both SPECTACULAR!!! I adore Thomas’s personality – insercure, yet you can see his strengths in OTHER factors of life

Leave a Reply

